When Apple Stickers Meant Something

Just read “The difference between iPhone users and Android users” by Zach Epstein.

I can still vividly remember the moment in 2000 when I decided to buy a Macintosh computer. I’d used them in my college computer lab and, once in a while, taught in the “mac room” where I taught software classes like MS Office, Adobe apps (even before CS), Quark Xpress, and Macromedia products. My employer allowed us to buy computers and have it taken out of our paychecks over time so I could finally afford one of my own.

I was teaching in the Mac room that day and one of the students asked something to the effect of, “You’re getting a Mac, right?” I said I honestly didn’t know what any difference might be other than the UI.

“Let me show you a couple things,” he said.

In less than five minutes, I was convinced and hungry for more.

g4g5.png

After several years, I upgraded from a G4 to a G5.

 

The Macs in our mac rooms at various locations were a couple models behind — especially once OSX was released. Over time, I pleaded for the company to upgrade but their answer was always, “Demand for Macs is dying” followed sometimes by predictions of the company dying as well. Try as I might, I couldn’t get them to see that demand for our classes was dying because every day our equipment and software was more out of date.

The iMac seemed to revive interest a wee bit for a while but cars wearing an Apple sticker  like mine were rare and I think only other Mac users really recognized it.

I faithfully bought magazines like MacAddict, MacUser and MacWorld every month and, sometimes, more expensive graphics magazines as well, photocopying the most useful articles for my students. I also loved finding the few great Mac websites and passing them along.

Then a funny thing happened. I’ve never bought an iPod, but received an iPod Mini as a gift and I liked it quite a lot. I miss it but I’d never pay for a such a thing. That same person bought me a Droid which I honestly thought was superior to the iPhone (and I could hack around with it) except for the fact that it wouldn’t sync with iTunes.

A couple years ago I bought a used iPhone 4 for approximately $100. I needed a new phone and I couldn’t tell you what ever happened to my iPod Mini. I no longer use it (or anything else) for a mobile phone. I’d still use it as a music player if my “new” car had an auxiliary jack. Sometimes I’ll use it as a camera.

I just don’t really have a use or desire for Apple iToys.

Now I have an iMac. It’s like owning a minivan. I miss being a “real” Mac user. I bought the stupid thing when I hadn’t upgraded in a long time and Apple had seemingly abandoned their line of desktops.  My lust for the yummy new PowerMacs turns my skin a deep slimy envious green when I covet the ones I see on friends’ desks.

I miss feeling unique. Macbooks, iPads, etc. have turned … there’s really no more “Mac users” as such because those with Apple stickers on their cars are now just … consumers.

It’s been over a decade since I bought a Mac-related magazine … there’s nothing new to learn. Honestly, the thing I now love most about my Mac is making use of the web server and unix environment while becoming a more serious coder. Even then, I prefer my Ubuntu laptop.

My next new computer (way in the future) will reflect that … something I make myself or buy without much investment that I can put Linux on.

About jotascript

Aiming to please. Seeking to impress.
This entry was posted in Linux, Mac OS and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

