What Next?

We see that question a lot? “I’ve just finished X course …” or “I need a project idea.” We also hear that potential employees see tons of value in someone who is active on GitHub and/or otherwise contributing to Open Source.

Like me, you might feel you’re not qualified to help on any of the Issues you find. I’ve decided that I’m just going to find an issue and go learn what I need to so I could solve it even if someone else fixes the problem before I do. It’s a way to keep working, keep coding, and not stumble around aimlessly. Eventually, I’ll have enough knowledge to help on more difficult Issues on that project and work my way up.

I have to say that everyone on GitHub has bent over backwards to go above and beyond answering questions, encouraging me, and otherwise helping me help them.

This is a world away from the snotty comments that are all too frequent on StackOverflow and even Scratch. Yes, Scratch. Those kids are mean.

I’m rather disappointed that I can’t find more projects based in the New York state. I thought that would be a great way to meet people, network, and whatnot. I’ve found tons of abandoned projects — students that created a profile for a class and never came back. Or, they’re private projects. Sad.

About jotascript

Aiming to please. Seeking to impress.
This entry was posted in GitHub, Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

