UX/UI Crimes #1: Comparably.com

Been meaning to start this series for a long time. Get ready for this Hall of Shame to expand like Jared Fogle‘s list of prison suitors.

I clicked on [hangs head in shame] some click-bait in my Twitter newsfeed to this site:

comparably1

Irritated, but giving it ye olde benefit of the doubt.

I looked all over the home page for “Register” or something like it. Knowing it’s common for that to appear in the “Sign In” form, I clicked Sign In but, first, two JotaScript Laws of UX/UI:

  1. Instead of a Sign In link, provide fields for username and password. Every time users click for no reason, a kitten dies. Or a puppy, if you’re a dog person.
  2. Provide a Register link regardless of whether you have a Sign In link (it still takes up less space than username and password fields if you’re concerned about space) or fields for credentials. Nobody should have to click just so they can be told they need to register (see “Every time users click for no reason …”).

I shouldn’t have rewarded poor design but — and here’s what’s really sad and stupid about companies like this — I still wanted what they had to offer bad enough to do so. There are far too many times in life when we want so badly to give companies our money, data, or whatever and they make it as difficult as possible. They’re worse than greedy, they’re sadistic.

Sign In took me here:

comparably2

I surrendered more good will and benefit of the doubt.

Just like I knew that sometimes Register is part of the Sign In form, I know that some Sign In forms are also Register forms — the designers just neglect to share that information with the users.

So I entered my email and what I thought might become my password and …

comparably3

“I’m a sucker, he’s a sucker, she’s a sucker, wouldn’t you like to be a sucker, too?” – Twisted Sister

Bodycount Clickcount: 2 clicks, 2 form fields

I’m a sucker, so I clicked, “Click here to Sign-Up” which has had two opportunities to appear before I clicked four times (if you included entering form fields–pressing tab counts as a click, for future reference).

Where did I go?

Back to the home page.

I was actually so confused that I went through the entire process again, thinking, “That can’t possibly be right. Something must have gone wrong.”Nope. I’d now gone in a complete circle twice.

Bodycount Clickcount: 4 clicks, 4 form fields

More curious than anything at this point, I thought perhaps users were expected to enter their Job Title … did you just get goosebumps? Did the hairs on the back of your neck stand up? … then be prompted to Sign-up for the honor of exchanging their valuable data for far less valuable data.

I expected Select Your Job Title to be a search field (despite that it accurately says, “select”) because it seems to me that would be more useful to the user but, the component being labeled clearly, it had this list of NOT job titles:

comparably4

Only “HR” makes sense. What do you do? “I’m HR.”

Here is the grand finale. The final screw-job. The big, bad boss at the final level:

comparably5

This is all the monsters released at the end of The Cabin in the Woods.

I was so disgusted I just left. I hope I don’t need to explain why this was the final straw on the camel’s exploding head.

Okay, just in case they’re reading this–because they’re obviously not very bright–I already clicked something that said, “Select Your Job Title” and it opened another menu that said, “Select Your Job Title.” It’s like those infinite pop-up windows that JavaScript newbies make thinking they’re sooooo funny. Or the Blair Witch making you hike in circles. Or like when I clicked four times to register and was taken back to the home page.

I can’t even provide a BodyClickcount for signing in or registering because I never got the chance to do either, even after 9 clicks. Despite my newfound contempt for this site, I have to say that what is even worse is they never got my data. They, like many other companies and sites, designed a site so poorly that it drove business away. Not only that, but did it despite how motivated I was.

I get, I think (I hope … again, this is more benefit of the doubt — I’m an eternal optimist … it often hurts me) I know the intent behind the Job Title thing. Maybe it’s just a mistake that could be remedied by calling that first menu “Select a Job Category.” Maybe the “designers” think that’s nit-picking amongst their split monkey hairs but, frankly, I’m increasingly disinclined to give my benefit of the doubt considering that was just one crime in the context of this whole spree. For reals, maybe you accidentally stabbed your wife once when she walked out of the bathroom but one stabbing in a bloodbath is harder to overlook. Ha! Did you catch that? Bathroom? Bloodbath? I didn’t even do that on purpose. I am SO clever.

About jotascript

Aiming to please. Seeking to impress.
This entry was posted in UI, UX and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to UX/UI Crimes #1: Comparably.com

  1. Pingback: UXUI Hall of Fame Welcomes Instagram | jotascript

Leave a Reply

