gMail Security Roxor My Soxor

Tried to log in to gMail only to be told for the second time in the last few months that, due to suspicious activity, I was forced to change my password.

But here’s the kicker: this time the suspect actually used my password when attempting to log in! Fortunately, since they are, apparently, cracking my shizzle from the Bat Caves of Malaysia, Google was like, “No, I don’t think so, man.”

batcaves.png

Google even provided a map (not this one) in the notification which was extremely amusing.

Notice the time in Kuala Lumpur–they were up to no good in their own wee hours between midnight and 4am!

badGuys.png

I’m such a nerd. I’m so proud that it’s all Mac and Linux except for my day job and the bad guys. The bad guys use Windows. Gotta love that (as my son would say).

badGuys2.png

Note that bad guys use Chrome.

The initial notification specifically said, “Someone has your password” and that they used it to try and access my email. Of course I wonder from where they obtained it or if some script/app gave it to them. It could be that when … was it Amazon? … a few weeks or months ago sent me an email stating somebody had pilfered their users’ information and I should change my passwords elsewhere if I used the same one for multiple apps/sites. No, that couldn’t be it because I’ve changed them since then. Hmm …

About jotascript

Aiming to please. Seeking to impress.
This entry was posted in Security and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

