Upgrading Ye Olde iMac to El Capitan

I said I was going to do this a while back in the slim hope it might help with my broken web server. I really want to test locally on the Mac and I’m starting a cover-to-cover adventure today with Robin Nixon‘s Learning PHP, MySQL, JavaScript, CSS & HTML5 so, now is as good a time as any to troubleshoot. I’m so tired of trying to learn any given thing but nasty obstacles jumping up and preventing my crossing a bridge.

My love affair with the other book I was working through is definitely over.

Later: Upgrading/updating to El Capitan took a while but smoothly. Also installed, on the LinuxLaptop, NetBeans fo da PHP. Download and installation instructions for phpEclipse were scary, but NetBeans was straightforward and easy. Why is it that 99.999% of my personal, home installations and upgrades are stress-free but the same at any given employer is always such a pain? They lock down all permissions so I have to submit a Help Desk ticket to change application preferences or delete a shortcut from my desktop and yet … the IT peeps themselves can’t install or upgrade Adobe apps without breaking everything. I’m not saying IT people are stupid, I’m just saying it’s a bit of a paradox.

I love it when upgrading an OS changes the appearance. It’s like that new car smell. I also like this trend of getting away from “3D” icons and UI. It was lovely for years but I’ve always been nostalgic about and missed OS 9. Not just the appearance, but using my Mac as an alarm clock (easily–trying to use Automator and iCal for this is a nightmare).

While the Apple App Store was open, I searched for “IDE.” BotMaker was among the results (and free) so I downloaded that. I may use it for the bot dev stuff I may be doing with Mil-OSS.

I understand what ID Util (another result) does but I don’t understand it’s purpose. In what situation would I need a preview of these Adobe files where I wouldn’t have access to a PDF?

About jotascript

Aiming to please. Seeking to impress.
This entry was posted in Mac OS, MAMP and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Upgrading Ye Olde iMac to El Capitan

  1. Maryland says:

    Short, sweet, to the point, FRExceEa-tly as information should be!

    Like

Leave a Reply

