Pretty Presidents

Not sitting presidents, but presidents sitting pretty. Bathed my presidents in Bootstrap (with some jQuery bathsalts) today and learned more than expected.

I started with just a little jQuery to give my form fields focus:

myFocus.png

I couldn’t stop there and applied some Bootstrap so these pages would match the rest of the site–which I must say is now the only site I’ve ever made I’m willing to show people since the original site I made for my students when I was teaching at New Horizons Computer Learning Centers of Michigan way back in the day.

withBS.png

It took a couple tries of learning what I needed to and could do when using Bootstrap from scratch (not examples from tutorials) which was lots of fun. Seriously, it was the most fun I’ve had making mistakes in a long time.

I quickly realized my focus was overriding the CSS from the theme but I like my focus way better than the one the theme’s CSS provides. I’ll have to go in there and start hacking around to make it my own theme.

My “display” page, however, still looked rather pathetic:

latestPrez2.png

Until …

prezWithBS.png

I need to dig in and learn how to narrow those columns but the biggest thing that jumped out at me was the knowledge that the Party column wasn’t being truncated–it actually only had the text “Democratic-Repu” in those rows! I was delighted that I knew right where to go:

phpMyAdminFix.png

I changed what I would call the width but is actually called VARCHAR in SQL from 15 to 25. I’m glad I’d only entered four of those before realizing that.

I know I can also easily fix that in PHPmyAdmin but I am chomping at the bit to learn how to do these things using the Command Line.

I totally dig that PHPmyAdmin shows you what the command/code is. Learned a bunch today with zero pain.

About jotascript

Aiming to please. Seeking to impress.
This entry was posted in Bootstrap, jQuery, MySQL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

