What Is This?

A long time ago, I wrote a quick, useless post saying, “Wow. Amazon uses AJAX. Neato.” and it, apparently, draws in more readers than all other posts combined. I kinda feel bad that so many people probably click “Amazon Uses AJAX” thinking they’re going to learn something. I was going to name this post “Windows Has Node” but I really don’t want to do that again. But here’s the deal …

My work PC sometimes slows to a crawl. It’s ridiculous. I can’t check anything or do anything about it (or anything else) because I have no administrative rights. Like, NONE. I can’t delete shortcuts from my desktop or change my SnagIt preferences without submitting a Technical Support ticket request. But I looked here:

TaskManager3

First of all, I hate not knowing what all that crizzle is. Now, I already knew Storyline is an enormous memory hog (which I wouldn’t mind if it actually did anything useful) but what really caught my eye was that Node is installed. I wouldn’t think it’s THE node but the description says, “Evented I/O for V8 JavaScript.” Is that really node.js? node.js wouldn’t be an exe, would it?

Update/Found:

  • “This EXE file carries a popularity rating of 1 stars and a security rating of “UNKNOWN”.”
  • “Node.exe is not essential for Windows and will often cause problems … the technical security rating is 49% dangerous
  • So, this unpopular, mysterious, dangerous thing is on my computer but Heaven forbid I be given the power to delete shortcuts or changes my app prefs!

Speaking of my work PC. This morning it only had like 8 GB free out of 167. What in the hizzle is taking up all that room? I launched Disk Cleanup (can’t actually use it, of course) which would only have freed up 3-4 GB of temp files. Sure, that would be great, but shouldn’t I have at least 100 GB more available?

Sometimes, lately, my iMac grinds to a halt as well but that’s easy to identify as having a wife and children who never, ever listen to my rules about downloading scum and villainy from the Intertube. The other day, I had to kill a couple tasks that were taking 48-100% of my CPU. I’d have smooth and speedy machine … if it weren’t for those meddling kids.

About jotascript

Aiming to please. Seeking to impress.
This entry was posted in nodeJS and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

