Upgrading to El Capitan; Hoping it Fixes Broken LAMP

Setting up my local server on my Ubuntu laptop went much better than on my iMac (Mavericks). The laptop’s server, in fact, has served me faithfully and flawlessly. The iMac, however, has all my Adobe shizzle which I find much easier to use — Dreamweaver in particular. It also has a large monitor, etc. so it’s just much less stressful.

Setting up the iMac’s server was a struggle from the beginning (usual problems with conflicting initial instructions and, when problems arose, conflicting solutions that rippled into other problems) but, eventually, it worked.

I can’t even remember exactly why (but I rue the moment), but I changed something because some tutorial told me to and everything broke. I’ve been using the laptop (where my Ubuntu lives) for anything requiring local testing because I hate having to upload everything to test every little thing–especially because, for some reason, files/pages I upload don’t refresh/update immediately when I try accessing them on the host using my browser. I don’t know if it’s my host, my browser, or Dreamweaver’s FTP.

The laptop’s server works great, as I said, but Dreamweaver’s Site View panel(s) and FTP are just so much easier than using my cPanel File Manager or Filezilla. I hate changing apps for different tasks.

One thing I noticed while initially setting up the LAMP on the iMac was that some tutorials stressed the differences in El Capitan vs Mavericks as well as mentioning upgrading to El Capitan overwrote some files, reset things, etc. — I’m sure that’s frustrating for people whose servers were working just fine but I’m hoping it will overwrite my stuff and I can start over.

I wish I could find instructions for just removing or resetting everything so I wouldn’t have to do this. Of course I’ve found plenty of instructions to do this but since none of them are the same, I don’t want to use any of them.

Just once I’d like two tutorials to tell me how to do the same thing in the same way. Or, at least, explain why they chose their particular method (and, in an ideal world, why they didn’t choose any alternative method).

About jotascript

Aiming to please. Seeking to impress.
This entry was posted in LAMP. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

