Updating Node

Previously: Bootstrap Part 2

Despite my mentor’s advice to just use the versions I have, I can’t do that. It’s not that I can’t use an old version, it’s that I don’t know how to update the version I have and that prevents me from thinking about anything else.

As I mentioned and showed in the previous post, most of the tutorials for or mentioning upgrading nodejs show people trying to upgrade from v0.10.25. This is the nodeJS homepage:

screenshot of node j s website

Maybe I’m misunderstanding what I’m reading, but this said to me that the version I have is zero-point-one and the current version is four-point-two. I even thought maybe versions for different operating systems were using different numbering conventions so I checked here:

List of all available versions of node

I made sure to check the dates on the tutorials and posts I was reading but it still seemed like the numbers were jumping far too quick (too recently) from what people were upgrading from to what the current version is.

I momentarily thought perhaps the version number on the nodejs site was “skipping” the first zero but, of course, their version number has three “places” as well: 4.2.2.

This next post, from 2014, confused me even a bit more.

askUbuntu

I infer from this that 0.10 is zero-point-ten, not zero-point-one because this Panamaldeniya person wants to upgrade from zero-point-six. This next post is one year older but the example they give of a specific version is zero-point-eight.

Screenshot of post by David Walsh

So, I’m still confused but I’ve seen that “stable” term used in many places, so I’m going to try that this evening.

About jotascript

Aiming to please. Seeking to impress.
This entry was posted in Linux, nodeJS. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Updating Node

  1. Pingback: Aaargh! Updating Node Part 2 | jotascript

Leave a Reply

