My First SVG

I first read about SVG while teaching Adobe Illustrator well over ten years ago. I may have drawn something and saved it as an SVG but never really did anything with it. I wanted to. Even then, I was fascinated by the idea of “data-driven graphics” but I had no idea what I’d use such a thing for.

I just coded my first SVG object and I’m so excited I’m afraid I’ll wet my pants.

my2ndSVG

I’ve been struggling for months to find practical reasons for coding graphics and a way to do it that isn’t a pain in the butt. The whole ProcessingJS thing feels like a ripoff but Interactive Data Visualization for the Web by Scott Murray has me all kinds of excited.

It brings together SVG, CSS, JavaScript (D3js), and is giving me my first non-intimidating look at JSON which … oh my gosh, I’m just too happy.

About jotascript

Aiming to please. Seeking to impress.
This entry was posted in Data Visualization and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

