Leaving the Dark Wood

Just read “Why You Must Make Time for Personal Projects” by David Palumbo. I just needed a reminder and, frankly, permission to make myself do fun, creative, challenging, stimulating things. I was already sold long before I read this:

Clients hire us based on the work which we have already produced.  If an artist often paints scenes with animals, they will be hired for jobs that feature animals.  It’s logical.  Usually it’s pretty fair as well.  We’re good at painting the things we like to paint, so being recognized for those things brings in more of that work.

But sometimes the jobs coming in are taking you in a direction you had not intended to go in.  The longer it goes on, the more entrenched you become.

That is why I am forcing myself to finally learn programming and computer science. I’ve never had an urgent or even practical reason to do it–there were always more reasons to just get better at every Adobe product. But Adobe expertise sent me drifting into a dark wood where I’ve been entrenched for over seven years.

Which brings me to: Is it just me, or is that second paragraph practically Dante?

Halfway through the journey of my life, I found myself astray in a dark wood, where the direct way was lost. It is a hard thing to speak of, how wild, harsh and impenetrable that wood was, so that thinking of it recreates the fear. It is scarcely less bitter than death …

I cannot rightly say how I entered it. I was so full of sleep …”

About jotascript

Aiming to please. Seeking to impress.
This entry was posted in Career and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

