Learning from Media (sort of)

Lots of hype about how “realistic” Mr. Robot is. The other day, I went old school and watched The Social Network (one of my all-time favorite movies). I mention this because two things stood out to me, due to my ever-expanding knowledge-base, during Zuckerberg‘s opening drink-n-hack FaceMash session. I felt so cool because I knew what he was talking about.

  • “I just gotta break out emacs and modify the perl script”
  • He mentioned Apache a few times

I’ve known about Perl for almost fifteen years but only spent a few minutes with it almost fifteen years ago.

I first heard of Apache (and, maybe, mySQL) when I bought my very first Mac of my very own (thank goodness for that employee purchase plan deducted from my paycheck!) but, at the time, I didn’t know what to do with it.

Soon after, I paid the $100+ to upgrade from OS9 to OSX and discovered UNIX and Ye Olde Terminal with which I truly geeked out for the first time.

About jotascript

Aiming to please. Seeking to impress.
This entry was posted in myExperience. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

